Thursday, 25 Apr, 2024


Bashundhara Media Award: A milestone in country's journalism history

Sifat Kabir, Senior Newsroom Editor |
Update: 2022-05-31 21:03:29
Bashundhara Media Award: A milestone in country's journalism history

The 30th May of 2022 will always be remembered in the history of Bangladesh journalism as the “Bashundhara Media Award”, the first of its kind, was organised aiming to recognize the country's fearless journalists.

This occasion, according to organisers, is not only to recognize the journalists but also to encourage all other journalists to practice ethical and investigative journalism in the days to come.

Bashundhara Group, the country's leading business conglomerate, organised the ‘Bashundhara Media Award 2021’, at the International Convention City Bashundhara (ICCB) in Dhaka. 

Information and Broadcasting Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud attended the programme as chief guest and handed over the awards to the journalists.

Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan inaugurated the programme which was chaired by ‘Bashundhara Media Awards 2021’ Organising Committee Convener and Bashundhara Group Managing Director Sayem Sobhan Anvir.

Several ministers, members of the parliament, business tycoons, government high-ups, editors, journalist leaders and cultural personalities were present.

Some 11 journalists were given the award for their in-depth investigative reports while 64, each from every district, were honoured for enriching grassroots journalism in the country.

Eleven winners are: Ishtiaq Ahmed (print), The Daily Star reporter in the Liberation War category, Kawser Soheli (Television), special correspondent of Maasranga Television, Salah Uddin Jasim (online), senior reporter of, Shoaib Chowdhury, Habiganj district correspondent of Desh Rupantor (print) in the crime and corruption category, GTV Staff Reporter Jannatul Ferdousi (Television), Jasmine Papri, News freelance journalist (online), in the Women and Children category, Samakal's senior correspondent Rajib Ahmed (print), Ananda TV Reporter Shawkat Sagar, Dhaka Post' senior correspondent Adnan Rahman (online), and photo journalist of Prothom Alo Dipu Malakar. Each of them received Tk 250,000 in cash, a crest and a certificate.

In addition, the persons who were honoured from 64 districts are:

Eight from Rajshahi division – Md Toybur Rahman of Rajshahi, Md Taslim Uddin of Chapainawabganj, SM Manzur Ul Hasan of Natore, Ranesh Moitra of Pabna, Rafiqul Alam Khan of Sirajganj, Asadul Islam Asad of Joypurhat, Md Nabir Uddin of Naogaon and ASM Khabirul Haque (Samudra Haque) of Bogra.

Eight from Rangpur Division- SM Shafiqul Islam of Lalmonirhat, Md Shahabuddin of Kurigram, Md Abdul Latif of Thakurgaon, Sadrul Alam Dulu of Rangpur, Amir Khasru Lablu of Panchagarh, Chitta Ghosh of Dinajpur, Md Shamsul Islam of Nilphamari and Gobindalal Das of Gaibandha.

Four form Mymensingh Division: AAK Mahmudul Hasan Dara of Jamalpur, Abdur Razzak of Mymensingh, Md Abdus Salam of Netrokona and Sushil Malakar of Sherpur.

Thirteen from Dhaka Division: Shafiq Chowdhuryof Dhaka, Hafizur Rahman Mintu of Narayanganj, Rashid Ahmed of Munshiganj, Nibaran Chandra Roy of Narsingdi, Subir Basak of Kishoreganj, Saifuddin Ahmed Nannu of Manikganj, Mohammad Sanaullah of Rajbari, SM Shahjahan Khan of Faridpur, Abdus Samad Talukder of Shariatpur, Durlav Biswas of Tangail and Md Nazrul Islam Badami of Gazipur.

Ten from Khulna Division: ABM Mosharraf Hussain of Bagerhat,Md Kamrul Arefin of Chuadanga, Professor Mosiul Azam of Jashore, Bimal Kumar Saha of Jhenaidah, Faruk Ahmed of Magura, Kazi Motahar Rahman of Khulna, Chowdhury Subhash Chandra of Satkhira, Bhakta Sarkar of Narail, Tozammel Azam of Meherpur and Abdur Rashid Chowdhury of Kushtia.

Eleven from Chattogam Division: Nasir Uddin Chowdhury of Chattogram district, Abul Hasanat Babul of Cumilla, Osman Harun Mahmud of Feni, Md Arju Mia of Brahmanbaria, AKM Maqsud Ahmed of Rangamati, AKM Jubayer of Noakhali, Golam Kibria of Chandpur, Hossain Ahmed Helal of Laxmipur, Priyotosh Pal Pintu of Cox’s Bazar, Tarun Kumar Bhattacharya of Khagrachhari, and Priyodorshi Barua of Bandarban.

Six from Barisal Division: Manabendra Batbal of Barisal district, Manik Roy of Jhalakati, Amirul Islam of Patuakhali, Mahmud Hossain Shukur of Pirojpur, M Habibur Rahman of Bhola and Chittaranjan Shil of Barguna.

Four Sylhet Divisions: Abdul Malik Chowdhury of Sylhet district, Ahmed Siraj of Moulvibazar, Chowdhury Fazle Nur Ismat of Habiganj and Md Iqbal Hossain Kagji of Sunamganj.

East West Media Group Limited (EWMGL) has published a souvenir on the occasion of Bashundhara Media Award ceremony. The guests unveiled it today. The souvenir contains short biographies of 64 veteran journalists, introductions of 11 award-winning journalists, statements of jury board members and some special reports published by different outlets of the EWMGL.

Popular film actor and alumni of the Department of Journalism at Dhaka University Ferdous and film actress and former news presenter Bubli anchored the programme.

Bangladesh Press Council Chairman Justice Nizamul Haque Nassim and ‘Bashundhara Media Award 2021’ Jury Board chief Prof Md Golam Rahman were present as the special guests.

The Jury Borad also consists of Ekushey Padak-winning journalist Ajay Dasgupta, editor-in-chief of TV Today (waiting to be on air) Monjurul Ahsan Bulbul, the daily Desh Rupantar editor Amit Habib, renowned photographer and writer Nasir Ali Mamun, film teacher, researcher and consultant Dr AJM Shafiul Alam Bhuiyan, noted investigative journalist Julfikar Ali Manik, and Associate Professor of the Department of Mass Communication and Journalism at Dhaka University Shaonti Haider.

Bashundhara Group Chairman Ahmed Akbar Sobhan, in his welcome speech, said the business conglomerate will hike the number of awards for investigative journalism from 11 to 25 next year. 

The award money of the journalists nominated by the jury board will increase from 2.5 lakh to 10 lakh, he added.

Terming the press as the fourth state, Dr Hasan Mahmud said journalists unearth the unknown stories and hidden truths of the society.

Bashundhara Group has already brought a qualitative change in the field of journalism and will continue to the sector, he said.

Dr Hasan Mahmud called upon journalists to focus on objective journalism and work for branding the country in the velvet of the globe.

However, 2022 is the happiest year for 64 journalists from different districts of Bangladesh who were given special honour in presence of the Information and Broadcasting Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud. They received cash, honorarium and scarves in the event.

BDST: 2000 HRS, May 31 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.