Wednesday, 25 May, 2022


Narayanganj City polls: Ivy, Taimur cast votes

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2022-01-16 12:21:30
Narayanganj City polls: Ivy, Taimur cast votes

Awami League nominated mayoral candidate Selina Hayat Ivy and Independent mayoral candidate Taimur Alam Khandakar have cast their vote in the Narayanganj City Corporation election.

Taimur Alam Khandakar voted at around 8:25am at the Narayanganj Islamia Kamil Madrasa Centre in Masdair while Selina Hayat Ivy at Deubhog Kalrab polling center at around 10:45am.

Earlier in the day, both of the candidates visited several centres.

" No comment over the election will be made right now. The tide of voters is in my favor. Taimur said after casting his vote.

Earlier, Timur had expressed his hope that he will win the election with over a lakh votes, if it is fair and free.

After casing her vote, Selina Hayat Ivy said: "The outcome of the election will be final. I will accept that result whatever that may be."

Voting began at 8am today in 192 centres across three Narayanganj City Corporation regions (city, port, and Siddhirganj), and will continue until 4pm. This time, voters will use electronic voting machines (EVM) to cast their votes.

Seven candidates are running for the post of the NCC mayor.

Besides, 148 candidates are contesting for 27 ward councilors post while 38 women are contesting for conserved seats for women in the NCC polls.

This time the NCC elections have 517,357 voters – including 257,519 females.

BDST: 1221 HRS, JAN 16, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.