Friday, 27 Nov, 2020


AL candidates win Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2020-10-18 12:56:36
AL candidates win Dhaka-5, Naogaon-6 by-polls

Awami League candidates Kazi Monirul Islam and Md Anwar Hossain Helal have won the by-elections to Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 constituencies.

In Dhaka, Monirul Islam bagged 45,642 votes while his nearest rival the BNP’s Salahuddin Ahmed received only 2,926 votes.

In Naogaon, Anwar Hossain secured 105,521 votes, beating the BNP’s Sheikh Md Rezaul Islam who finished the race with 4,605 votes.

Voting in both polls began at 9:00 am on Saturday and continued uninterrupted till 5:00 pm. However, the voter turnout was noticeably low.

Only 10.43 percent of 471,129 voters cast their ballots in Dhaka while 36.49 percent of 306,725 voters cast their ballots in Naogaon, according to returning officers concerned.  

BDST: 1254 HRS, OCT 18, 2020

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.