Friday, 20 May, 2022


Narayanganj city polls: Voting ends, counting begins

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2022-01-16 16:42:34
Narayanganj city polls: Voting ends, counting begins

The voting in the Narayanganj City Corporation elections has ended without any major incident on Sunday.  

The counting of votes then started immediately at all polling centres across the city.

The polls were held through the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) from 8:00am to 4:00pm without any break.

The government assigned 27 mobile teams run by the magistrates and deployed huge law enforcing agencies to hold the voting peacefully. 

Fourteen judicial magistrates were appointed to conduct elections peacefully. 

Around 5,17,362 voters were expected to exercise their voting rights at 1333 polling booths in 192 centers of 26 wards. 

Although seven candidates are vying for the mayoral post, the main contest is expected to be held between Awami League contestant Dr Selina Hayat Ivy with ‘Boat’ and BNP veteran Taimur Alam Khandaker, who is running as an independent candidate, with ‘Elephant’.

Besides, there are 180 other candidates -- 148 against councillor posts and 32 for women reserved councillor posts – in the race.

BDST: 1642 HRS, JAN 16, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.