Sunday, 24 Sep, 2023


Shakib’s Kolkata book IPL final

News Desk |
Update: 2014-05-28 10:30:00
Shakib’s Kolkata book IPL final Kolkata Knight Riders

DHAKA: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) reached IPL final beating King’s XI Punjab (KXIP) by 28 runs at Eden Gardens of Kolkata on Wednesday.

Punjab lost 8 wickets to score 135 runs in chasing KKR-set 164 run-target in the first qualifier of Indian Premier League (IPL)-7 at Eden Gardens of Kolkata.

Yadav bagged three wickets, Morkel two while Shakib and Chawla took one each. 

Earlier KXIP captain George J Bailey won the toss and decided to field first in the day-night match.

After the stipulated 20-over, KKR scored 163.

Uthappa, Pandey, Shakib and Yusuf Pathan scored 42, 21, 18 and 20 runs respectively before going back to the pavilion.

Karanveer Singh bagged three wickets while Patel and Johnson picked two wickets each.

KKR won the title in 2012 while this is the first time Punjab is playing a playoff match after the 1st edition of IPL in 2008. 

BDST: 2029 HRS, May 28, 2014

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.