Sunday, 24 Jan, 2021


Expecting Mouth Watering Contest In Bangabandhu T20 Tournament 

Saleque Sufi |
Update: 2020-11-24 13:22:32
Expecting Mouth Watering Contest In Bangabandhu T20 Tournament 

After a while Bangladesh cricket will witness intense contest of five evenly matched franchises in Bangabandhu T20 tournament organized by BCB on the occasion of birth centenary of the father of the nation. 

Not exactly in the BPL mold but also not much different this T20 tournament is absolute confined to 80 local players (16 each team) sponsored by local business houses. On paper Jemcon Khulna appears to be slightly stronger than the rest followed by Fortune Barishal and Beximco Dhaka. Gazi Group Chattogram and Minister Group Rajshahi may appear a little thin in matter of big names. But T20 is usually instant cricket. Team that executes the plans clinically wins. It takes one, two good partnership an inspired spell of bowling at crunch moment for winning a match. For that matter this writer cannot write off any team before watching them play at least two matches. 

This year it is expected that there will be less umpiring mistakes as DRS system will be in place and drones will be used. Sports lovers heralded the emergence of a sports channel T sports. But at the same time gets frustrated that it will not have Bangla commentary. The tournament kicks off today with two matches played on day one. Beximco Dhaka encounters Minister Group Rajshahi in the afternoon; Jemcon Khulna will lock horns with Fortune Barishal in the evening. 25 games will be played over 24 days to find the winner. This tournament is an opportunity for teenagers and fringe players rubbing shoulders with seasoned professionals and proving their worth. 

Here is a preview of the of the first match today. 

Beximco Dhaka: Minister Group Rajshahi 
Beximco Dhaka: Mushfiqur Rahim (Capt), Mohammad Naim, Pinak Ghosh, Tanzid Hasan, Shahadat Hossain, Yasir Ali, Shabbir Rahman, Akbar Ali, Mukhtar Ali, Naeem Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Rubel Hossain, Shafiqul Islam, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Robiul Islam and Abu Hidar 
Minister Group Rajshahi: Najmul Hossain Shanto (Captain). Mohammad Ashraful, Rony Talukdar, Fazle Mahmood, Anisul Islam Emon, Mehedi Hasan, Zaker Ali, Farhad Reza, Roquibul Hasan, Nurul Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Arafat Sunny, Mukidul Islam, Rejaur Rahman Raja, Sunjamamul Islam. 

By the look it Dhaka appears far stronger team possessing the most consistent batsman Mushfiqur Rahim of any format. They also have quality-opening batsman in Naim and Pinak, some brilliant upcoming young batsmen Tanzid Hasan, Shahadat Hossain. Shabbir has lot to prove and so is Akbar Ali a cool customer. Rubel was in prolific form in Presidents Cup, He will have able partners in Abu Hidar, Shafiqul Islam and Mehedi Hasan Rana. But end of the day it will largely depend on whether opponent can get rid of Mushfique before he gets breathing time.  In business as usual Dhaka starts as favorite. But in T20 you never know.

The mission of Minister Rajshahi got a big blog with their prized catch all-rounder Saifuddin getting injured. The other bright prospect is Bangladesh Cricket Icon Mohammad Ashraful seemingly in fine tune. Rajshahi will look forward for Ash firing in all cylinders. Nazmul Shanto, Rony Talukdar, Roquibul Hasan, Fazle Mahmood, Nurul Hasan, and Emon are good enough batsman to post challenging scores. Farhad Reza is a good all-rounder. In absence of Saifuddin the team will lose cutting edge. But Farhad Reza, Mukidul Islam, Arafat Sunny and Sanjamamul Huq cannot be blasted so easily. The team is young and perhaps has nothing to see. Would not be surprised if they turn the table on the favorites.
But key is how Ashraful, Shanto, Rony Talukdar and Roqubul bat against Ruble and co and whether Rajshahi can get rid of Mushfique cheaply. 

BDST: 1322 HRS, NOV 24, 2020

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.