Saturday, 01 Oct, 2022


World Test Championship 

Broad joins exclusive club in Lord’s Test

Sports Desk |
Update: 2022-08-19 11:17:20
Broad joins exclusive club in Lord’s Test [Photo Collected]

Legend England fast bowler Stuart Broad added yet another accolade to an already acclaimed international career at Lord's on day two of England's Test against South Africa.

Dismissing Kyle Verreynne with an edge behind to Ben Foakes, Broad became the second player to take 100 Test wickets at the venue, joining long-time sparring partner James Anderson, who was on-field to welcome him in celebration.

Broad with the record becomes the fourth person to take 100 Test wickets at a single venue, entering an exclusive group with his teammate as well as Sri Lankan pair Muttiah Muralitharan and Rangana Herath. Unsurprisingly, Muralitharan has achieved the feat at three venues: Galle, Kandy and the Sinhalese Sports Club Ground in Colombo.

The feat is just another glowing achievement in the sport for Broad, who is approaching Glenn McGrath’s fifth spot on the all-time Test wicket-taking list.

Broad (553*) is ten scalps away from equalling his Ashes rival, and could well pass him by the end of the current series. In terms of quick bowlers, Anderson (658*) would be the only man separating Broad at the top once overtaking the Australian.

Despite the best efforts of Broad and the bowlers, it was South Africa’s day at Lord’s, storming to a strong first innings lead and building on day one dominance.

The wicket to dismiss Kyle Verreynne meant the tourists sat precariously at 210/6, though the Proteas lower order fought to arrest control of the match once more.

Perhaps in a counter-attacking move like that of their adversaries in recent months, Marco Jansen was promoted in the batting order, hitting four fours and a six in a flurry of 41* (57). At the other end was Keshav Maharaj, who played an aggressive knock of his own with a 49-ball 41.

The Proteas take a lead of 124 runs into day three.

Players to take 100 Test wickets at a single venue

Muttiah Muralitharan - Sinhalese Sports Club Ground, Colombo - 166

Muttiah Muralitharan - Asgiriya Stadium, Kandy - 117

James Anderson - Lord’s, London - 117*

Muttiah Muralitharan - Galle International Stadium, Galle - 111

Rangana Herath - Galle International Stadium, Galle - 100

Stuart Broad - Lord’s, London - 100*

Stats correct as of Friday 19 August 2022

Source: ICC - International Cricket Council

BDST: 1115 HRS, AUG 19, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.